Well…

Hey everyone! Sorry it’s been a while since I lost blogged. As you may know, I am NOT good at keeping up with my blog. It’s really hard for me to blog and can just be a pain at times. Then you throw in moving to a new city, having a new community, a new job, and trying to keep moving forward, and it seems like there isn’t much time for blogging. Oh well. I’ve got an update (kinda) so check it out. And while checking it out, check out this great song by Chance the Rapper (it’s fitting for a Sunday).

Honestly, I’m not really sure where this blog is going to go. My first month or so in Austin has been amazing. My roommates and I (all 11 of us) live in a great location close to delicious restaurants, bars with cheap beers, all while still being in our own little relaxed bubble on Austin Pres. Seminary’s campus. I’ve found cool people to play football (soccer) with on a weekly basis, an awesome place to go bouldering, amazing organizations to participate and work with, SO many taco stands, and have really enjoyed living with my new community. Moving to a new city and having new everything can be really exciting and fun.

But, moving to a new place can also be a bit overwhelming. I don’t really know where the best stores are, or the best places to eat (though I’m figuring that out quick). I’ve been dealing with Texas road infrastructure (rough) and with Texas drivers (rougher). I’ve been trying to balance creating community with my roomies while also investing in relationships with other YAVA (YAV alum), co-workers, and random people I meet while doing random things (normally football related). Then we add in trying to get normal amounts of sleep, be active, take time for myself, and do lots of little adult things (like finding a place to get a haircut-why’s that so hard??). And then, on top of all of this craziness, I’ve been both to New Mexico for YAV transition retreat (more about that later?) and back to South Carolina for my grandfather’s funeral. It really can get overwhelming and be a challenge.

While it has been a bit of a wild ride, I’ve also realizing that this is kind of what life looks like for me now. It’s full. It’s overwhelming. It’s exciting and fun and exhausting and emotional. It brings me to great heights but also kicks me down low. However different it may be from past years, I’m sensing that this is what I want my life to look like. A life that is vibrant and colorful and breaks me down so I can rebuild into something fuller and more alive. It may exhaust me at times, but I can’t really think of anywhere else I’d rather be right now. So I’m going to guess that that’s a good sign and something that I should be happy about. Let’s hope it stays that way.

Leave a Reply

